Waiting on Wednesday [#12]

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over @ Breaking the Spine and each week we get to pick an up-and-coming release that we’re excited about. I always look forwards to this because it gives me an excuse to scroll through the never ending lists on Goodreads of books that are coming out. Any excuse not to do things like studying, right?

new2bwow

This week I’m waiting on . . .


 Never Ever by Sara Saedi

ADD IT ON GOODREADS

22840374

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling (Peter Pan)
Author: Sara Saedi
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320 {hardback}

RELEASE DATE: 21st June 2016

// PRE-ORDER //

Wylie Dalton didn’t believe in fairy tales or love at first sight.

Then she met a real-life Peter Pan.

When Wylie encounters Phinn—confident, mature, and devastatingly handsome—at a party the night before her brother goes to juvie, she can’t believe how fast she falls for him. And that’s before he shows her how to fly.

Soon Wylie and her brothers find themselves whisked away to a mysterious tropical island off the coast of New York City where nobody ages beyond seventeen and life is a constant party. Wylie’s in heaven: now her brother won’t go to jail and she can escape her over-scheduled life with all its woes and responsibilities—permanently.

But the deeper Wylie falls for Phinn, the more she begins to discover has been kept from her and her brothers. Somebody on the island has been lying to her, but the truth can’t stay hidden forever.

[Goodreads summary]

Can we start by taking a moment to appreciate how strong the cover game is here? I think I’ve discovered a new trend – if the book has a hand held mirror on it, I buy it. It just screams fairy-tale very loudly and it excites my childish mind on very high levels.

BECAUSE YES. This is a fairy-tale retelling of Peter Pan – does anyone else feel like there haven’t bee enough Peter Pan retellings? And now, suddenly, every author is pumping one out. I am literally throwing books in the air in celebration.

I think this book sounds *interesting*. I think it’s necessary to err on the side of caution with this one, I do think it sounds good but I’m not 100% sold. I’m 98.4% sold. So you know. I always enjoy a good retelling as they’re just fun because some clever-clogs has played around with a brilliant idea to make it BRILLIANT-ER. Hopefully. The main thing that has me worried is the fact that it’s an island off New York (why always America?) but mainly the whole party/freedom thing it has going. BUT I’M STILL VERY EXCITED.

// GOODREADS // PRE-ORDER //


 What are you waiting on?


 End Note

~~ Kirstie ~~

 

4 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday [#12]

  1. I’ve been a bit wary about reading Peter Pan retellings ever since I read Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson because I feel that nothing can live up to the high standards that book has created for me. However, this sounds absolutely amazing! Thanks for sharing and, as always, great choice! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.